SARU u/21 Championship – Round Six Preview

(Photo Credit - Jorina Raath/

The 2019 SARU u/21 Championship enters the sixth week of competition with the Blue Bulls the leaders and unbeaten. Three matches will be played this weekend and apart from the Sharks vs Leopards game there is no clear favourite with the underdogs in with a fighting chance.

Sharks u/21 vs Leopards u/21

In the first match of the second round, the Sharks hosts the Leopards at Kings Park later on this afternoon. The Sharks is currently 3rd on the log with 13 log points while the Leopards is last with 7 log points and it should be a comfortable win for the Sharks.

The Sharks is using this match to experiment and give some of their key players must needed rest. They will start with an almost new pack of forwards while their backline it is only Henk Cilliers apart from Boeta Chamberlain at 10 and Jaden Hendrikse at 9 who remains at outside centre.

The Leopards on the other hand only made two changes where L Nyele comes in at 11 and Dreyer making way for S Veldsman at 7.

Sharks: 15. M du Plessis, 14. S Tole, 13. H Cilliers, 12. R Koster, 11. C Dingaan, 10. H Chamberlain, 9. J Hendrikse, 8. E Roos, 7. J Labuschage, 6. A Mountford, 5. E v Heerden, 4. D Weideman, 3. F Klopper, 2. C vd Merwe, 1. S Barnes. Replacements: 16. D Grant, 17. C Haggard, 18. T de Jager, 19. L Ncube, 20. N Fisanti, 21. X Swartbooi, 22. L Malan, 23. A Kunene.

Leopards: 15. B Botha, 14. P van Niekerk, 13. L Daniels, 12. J Steenkamp, 11. L Nyelele, 10. A vd Bergh, 9. S Hassien, 8. A Fouche, 7. S Veldsman, 6. C Vermaak, 5. E Nebe, 4. W Nel, 3. S Swiegers, 2. S Mare, 1. R du Plessis. Replacements: 16. G du Rand, 17. R Baumann, 18. E Brand, 19. B Lushozi, 20. M Etsebeth, 21. C Dorfling, 22. L Jahns, 23. L Khoza


Free State Cheetahs u/21 vs Golden Lions u/21

In the first match, tomorrow afternoon the Cheetahs hosts the Golden Lions at Bloemfontein. The Cheetahs are sitting comfortably in the second place on the log with 17 points while a talented but struggling Golden Lions is 5th on the log with 10 points.

Although the Lions lost to Western Province (10-20) they did had the majority of possession and if they can work out what to do with the possession it could be an interesting afternoon in Bloemfontein. However, I do think the Cheetahs backline is one of the best in the competition and will come out tops in this battle.

The Cheetahs made only three changes to their bench where Keegan Human, Zinedine Booysen and Aya Oliphant is an almost brand new backline replacement.

Cheetahs: 15. C Jasper, 14. M Boshoff, 13. C le Fleur, 12. J Mollentze, 11. P Krugell, 10. L Dobela, 9. R Kruger, 8. R vd Merwe, 7. E Louw, 6. R Smit, 5. K Murray, 4. N Jordan, 3 G Visser, 2. R Cross, 1. E Davids. Replacements: 16. C Wijburg, 17. W Marais, 18. J Meades, 19. S Engelbrecht, 20. H Terblanche, 21. K Human, 22. Z Booysen, 23. A Oliphant.

Golden Lions: - Not Available Yet -


DHL Western Province u/21 vs Vodacom Blue Bulls u/21

The unbeaten Blue Bulls are travelling to Cape Town as favourites to remain unbeaten as well as keeping their place at the top of the competition log. However, Western Province has improved with every match they played in this years SARU u/21 Championship and will definitely not be that easy to beat (55-27) as when the two teams met in Pretoria in Round 1.

Western Province's team shows three changes and one positional change in the backline with the forward pack kept unchanged. Gerado Jaars replaces Vusile Dlepu at scrumhalf who moves to the bench while A Davids replaces Durran Hoffman on the wing. David Kriel moves back to fullback with Lyle Hendricks forming a new centre pair with Rikus Pretorius.

Vaughan Isaacs shifts from flyhalf to fullback with Fiela Boshoff returning to the no.10 jersey. Marnus Potgieter takes his place in the midfield and Lian du Toit starts at scrumhalf in the other changes amongst the backs.
The forwards remain relatively settled as Ryno Pieterse replaces Carl Els at lock with the former shifting to the bench. The front row sees two changes with Mornay Smith and Kudzwai Dube coming in for Cabous Eloff and Etienne Janeke respectively who moves to the bench.

DHL Western Province u/21: 1. L Lyons, 2. S Erasmus, 3. S Sandi, 4. M Theunissen, 5. B Dixon (Capt), 6. G Dlamini, 7. P Orderson, 8. A Paarwater, 9. G Jaars, 10. D Coetzer, 11. A Davids, 12. R Pretorius, 13. L Hendricks, 14. S Njezula, 15. D Kriel. Replacements: 16. J Muller, 17. D Bleuler, 18. M Strauss, 19. I Kitwanga, 20. J Johnson, 21. V Dlepu, 22. A van Reenen, 23. D Hoffman.

Vodacom Blue Bulls U21: 15. Vaughan Isaacs, 14. Gershwin Mouton, 13. Marnus Potgieter, 12. Wian van Niekerk, 11. Sebastiaan Jobb, 10. Fiela Boshoff, 9. Lian du Toit, 8. Hanru Sirgel, 7. Jaco Labuschagne, 6. JC Pretorius (C), 5. Janko Swanepoel, 4. Ryno Pieterse, 3. Mornay Smith, 2. Werner Fourie, 1. Kudzwai Dube. Replacements: 16. Llewellyn Claassen, 17. Etienne Janeke, 18. Carl Els, 19. Stefan Smit, 20. Keagan Johannes, 21. Andrew Kota, 22. Jay-Cee Nel, 23. Cabous Eloff.